Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Overclocking

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2035

  • JohnJNukeEmSheridan
  • JohnJNukeEmSheridan's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Officer
  • Resident Musician and Crazy Guy.
  • Posts: 710
  • Thank you received: 296
Just one quick question... Tried overclocking my system slightly, to see if I could gain a performance increase.. What happened though was I sort of "desynced", meaning I was "ahead of everyone else". It's really hard to explain, but basically no enemies could see me, but I could see them (and shoot them). Subsequently, I was accused of hacking (which I wasn't), but could anyone tell me what happened? Has something similar happened someone else? Only thing I changed was increase the FSB frequency from 333 to ~400.. :S

Ps. Everything was sped up. Could see lightnings firing maybe 20-30 % quicker, and so on.
Last Edit: 5 years 7 months ago by JohnJNukeEmSheridan.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2036

  • Madvillain
  • Madvillain's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Member
  • The Village Idiot.
  • Posts: 363
  • Thank you received: 139
I believe this happens when you go above 180 frames per minute.
(and it's a exploit indeed)
Last Edit: 5 years 7 months ago by Madvillain.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: JohnJNukeEmSheridan

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2037

  • JohnJNukeEmSheridan
  • JohnJNukeEmSheridan's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Officer
  • Resident Musician and Crazy Guy.
  • Posts: 710
  • Thank you received: 296
So, theoretically, with a lower overclock, I would get better performance without getting that exploit?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2039

  • Spikor
  • Spikor's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • waiting for double XP WE
  • Posts: 202
  • Thank you received: 53
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2042

  • Dann3
  • Dann3's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 3
Dont now what your system specs are and iam not an expert in any way.. But i have been tinkering around some with overclocking in the past and present :-) And regarding the fsb everthing is linked to it and if you dont have a "fsb lock" or a multiplier to set everthing hdd, gfx etc will be effected when you rise the fsb speed maybe thats whats causing your issues...

/Dan
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Overclocking 5 years 7 months ago #2044

  • cheerio
  • cheerio's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Member
  • To portray a maniac offers a compelling challenge
  • Posts: 1287
  • Thank you received: 380
as you can run this game you don't have that old hardware. so the fsb is clocking the memory and cpu. you should lock your pcie bus to 100mhz if you change the fsb. you also want to adjust the memory multiplier so your memory clock is inside the specs. do not use the auto setting for the vcore. look the voltage for your cpu up and put the value in. you should run prime95 for a few hours at least making sure there is no calculation error. in planetside you should cap your fps at 60.
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]

The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.170 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum